Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Num2Name.com - Free CNAM Lookups


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 natas

natas

    De La Natas

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 4,273 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Old Skool

Posted 31 July 2008 - 05:05 PM

I put together this site over the weekend...thought it would be a cool little tool for some people. Put in a 10 digit US or Canadian number and you (should) get back a name (from a CNAM source...), city/state, phone company name and the number type (wireless/landline/other).

http://www.num2name.com <--Phone Number To Name Tool

Pretty straight forward. Let me know what you think.....I think I'm going to make a light weight mobile version for the iPhone's browser soon and figure out mod_rewrite so I can make cool URLs like "/lookup/2128675309" that you can bookmark and link to.

I want to do a Google Map integration too where it'll show the city.

#2 Zeph

Zeph

    OMG, so close to "1337"!

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,319 posts

Posted 31 July 2008 - 05:08 PM

This is really neat; simple too.
Thanks natas!
p.s. Hit me up if you need help with the iPhone UI.

Edited by Zeph, 31 July 2008 - 05:11 PM.


#3 ic0n

ic0n

    Fear teh phone!

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NPA 216/440

Posted 31 July 2008 - 05:45 PM

nice work natas! I'll give you a hand a the iphone stuff as well if you need it.

#4 hrddrv

hrddrv

    SUP3R 31337 P1MP

  • Members
  • 275 posts
  • Location:G'ville Fl

Posted 31 July 2008 - 06:28 PM

Nice work. And can't wait for the google map part.

#5 dmine45

dmine45

    Mack Daddy 31337

  • Members
  • 225 posts

Posted 31 July 2008 - 07:57 PM

Not too bad. Wish there was the ability to look up unlisted numbers.

#6 natas

natas

    De La Natas

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 4,273 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Old Skool

Posted 31 July 2008 - 08:16 PM

Not too bad. Wish there was the ability to look up unlisted numbers.


Unlisted numbers don't work for you? It should. Unless my CNAM source really sucks.

#7 Dik

Dik

    SCRiPT KiDDie

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 01 August 2008 - 01:05 AM

So do names regularly show up? I tried two number and although the city, provider, and type of line showed up (nice work) the name did not.

#8 radio_phreak

radio_phreak

    SUP3R 31337

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In my Telecommando lair

Posted 01 August 2008 - 02:28 AM

Excellent work :D, 3 out 5 numbers I put in came up with a result, and 2 came up as unknown aside from that, excellent stuff B)

#9 dmine45

dmine45

    Mack Daddy 31337

  • Members
  • 225 posts

Posted 01 August 2008 - 04:07 AM

Unlisted numbers don't work for you? It should. Unless my CNAM source really sucks.


Or it isn't updated very often. I've spoofed caller ID on VOIP services to get the names of some numbers to see who they were. They show up on my caller ID box but don't show up on the website. They come up there as "unknown".

Edited by dmine45, 01 August 2008 - 04:08 AM.


#10 ThoughtPhreaker

ThoughtPhreaker

    BinRev veteran

  • Members
  • 1,218 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 August 2008 - 12:50 PM

Unlisted numbers don't work for you? It should. Unless my CNAM source really sucks.


Yeah, I think if the number isn't listed, it'll generally come back as unknown. like 434-973-2793 will read CENTEL from my POTS line, but come back as unknown from num2name (this isn't a generic CNAM like the one Verizon uses on some test numbers, Centel hasn't existed since the early 1990's). As another example, 434-973-4228 comes back as EMBARQ, PIC TEST normally, but doesn't show any results from num2name. I like how it doesn't truncate names, though. Like from a POTS line, 906-524-5015 will come back as DICKS PUMP & M, but the full name comes back with num2name.

#11 Beave

Beave

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 350 posts

Posted 01 August 2008 - 01:56 PM

Hey, another quick feature...

To pull CNAM and just have it dump back basic text information. That way, it'd be trivial to intergrate into a Asterisk AGI... Just a thought. That is, no HTML - just text...

Edited by Beave, 01 August 2008 - 01:56 PM.


#12 PhreakerD7

PhreakerD7

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 375 posts
  • Location:Using your phone line

Posted 01 August 2008 - 02:50 PM

Oh, very neat. :D

Another cool site, natas. Will put this to much use and abuse <3

#13 10nix

10nix

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 423 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:845

Posted 01 August 2008 - 05:48 PM

Interesting...

It spells Poughkeepsie NY

Poughkepsi, NY

845-452-9901
Or old school:

GL(obe)2-9901

And yes, a text only version for AGI integration would be fantastic.

Edited by 10nix, 01 August 2008 - 05:54 PM.


#14 10nix

10nix

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 423 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:845

Posted 01 August 2008 - 05:50 PM

<delete please double post>

Edited by 10nix, 01 August 2008 - 05:51 PM.


#15 Andrew

Andrew

    SUP3R 31337

  • Members
  • 189 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newfoundland, Canada

Posted 01 August 2008 - 07:11 PM

I put together this site over the weekend...thought it would be a cool little tool for some people. Put in a 10 digit US or Canadian number and you (should) get back a name (from a CNAM source...), city/state, phone company name and the number type (wireless/landline/other).

http://www.num2name.com <--Phone Number To Name Tool

Pretty straight forward. Let me know what you think.....I think I'm going to make a light weight mobile version for the iPhone's browser soon and figure out mod_rewrite so I can make cool URLs like "/lookup/2128675309" that you can bookmark and link to.

I want to do a Google Map integration too where it'll show the city.


If it isn't too much work you should think about implementing an API (JSON or XML) so you can integrate the site with many different applications :)

-Andrew

#16 natas

natas

    De La Natas

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 4,273 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Old Skool

Posted 01 August 2008 - 07:45 PM

I made an iPhone version because I'm a fr33k and love doing stuff for the iPhone now.

http://www.num2name.com/iphone

If you visit num2name.com from your iPhone or iPod Touch now it'll automagically redirect you to the iPhone version.

I guess my CNAM source isn't as good as I thought it was. Sorry about that.

#17 ic0n

ic0n

    Fear teh phone!

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NPA 216/440

Posted 01 August 2008 - 08:30 PM

I made an iPhone version because I'm a fr33k and love doing stuff for the iPhone now.

http://www.num2name.com/iphone

If you visit num2name.com from your iPhone or iPod Touch now it'll automagically redirect you to the iPhone version.

I guess my CNAM source isn't as good as I thought it was. Sorry about that.


I was just pimping this on my phone with a few friends and noticed the redirectuch props from us Ohio phreaks!

#18 duper

duper

    Dangerous free thinker

  • Members
  • 816 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 02 August 2008 - 01:24 PM

natas, how would you feel if I wrote a script that "wardialed" num2name to create a sort of BellsMind database for CNAM? ;)

#19 natas

natas

    De La Natas

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 4,273 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Old Skool

Posted 02 August 2008 - 01:29 PM

natas, how would you feel if I wrote a script that "wardialed" num2name to create a sort of BellsMind database for CNAM? ;)


I really don't want people doing that because I don't want my CNAM source to block me. It's sort of a hack how I'm getting it.

#20 duper

duper

    Dangerous free thinker

  • Members
  • 816 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 02 August 2008 - 01:44 PM

That's what I figured. I understand and I won't do that. I was just speculating. To prevent people from doing this perhaps you could implement some sort of throttle mechanism like TimeLox.

Anyways, it would be cool if you cached the results from all the queries and added them to BellsMind somehow. That way, you wouldn't have to send multiple queries for the same number either.




BinRev is hosted by the great people at Lunarpages!