• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 kr1sty

kr1sty

DDP Fan club member

• Members
  • 55 posts

Posted 26 July 2008 - 09:03 PM

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to linux, and I'm looking for a simple browser that can be easily installed on centos 5.

Firefox keeps crashing when I go to SSL sites, and Lynx is a text browser which makes it hard to visit some sites.

Thanks

#2 Ohm

Ohm

I could have written a book with all of these posts

• Members
  • 3,209 posts

Posted 26 July 2008 - 10:17 PM

Opera is nice, but... seriously, I might take the time to figure out what's wrong with Firefox. It's often the best option on Linux (or any platform for that matter). And no, I'm not even a Firefox fanboy, I like Opera much better but practicality dictates I use Firefox for just about everything. Give Opera a try, but it doesn't work on all sites (especially javascript-heavy sites).

Centos might not be the best choice for a desktop. You might want to switch to something that's better maintained with desktop users in mind. Popularity is a good thing (that's not to say Centos is unpopular) when it comes to Linux distros. I means more bug reports and more package maintainers to fix problems like the one you're having now. If you dare leave the mainstream, expect to diagnose and fix problems yourself.

#3 kr1sty

kr1sty

DDP Fan club member

• Members
  • 55 posts

Posted 26 July 2008 - 10:24 PM

Thanks, I agree with you. I've listed my firefox problem on a few forums, asked some experts, but no answers. I've even asked here (http://www.binrev.co...showtopic=38419). So my next logical step is find another browser. I'm currently trying to install Opera. I need to download the Fedora RPM package to install on Centos right?

#4 kr1sty

kr1sty

DDP Fan club member

• Members
  • 55 posts

Posted 26 July 2008 - 10:27 PM

Which linux platform would you recommend for a desktop environment? Which linux platform would you recommend for a web environment?