Photo
- - - - -

how to change my external IP?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 paranoid_user

paranoid_user

I broke 10 posts and all I got was this lousy title!

• Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 May 2008 - 04:58 PM

hello, i need to change my ext. ip, but i am quite inexperienced; not a total noob tho.

so how should i be able to do that? i found few pointers on the web but they were all
explained bit poorly.

oh, and my external ip is dynamic as far as i know.

#2 Swerve

Swerve

Dangerous free thinker

• Members
  • 809 posts

Posted 24 May 2008 - 05:08 PM

Your IP is leased to you from your ISP and the length of the lease varies. One ISP I was with leased it for 24hrs, another leased it for use only while my connection existed.

Basically you need to switch off your router/box until the lease runs out, at which time when you reconnect, you will be issued a new one.

As you mention, if it was static you would need to get your ISP to change it.

#3 paranoid_user

paranoid_user

• Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 May 2008 - 07:47 PM

yea, my lease has 24h longevity too. if ipconfig tells it right.

so basicaly what i gather... router obtains the lease every 24 hours. if i log on onto the computer in that time it will renew the lease and my ip will remain the same.

so should i turn off the router or modem for 24 hours or just a turn them off/on at the time of lease expiration - turn it off before and turn on after?

#4 LUCKY_FUCKIN_CHARMS

LUCKY_FUCKIN_CHARMS

TCP/IP....PI/MP

• Members
  • 1,493 posts

Posted 24 May 2008 - 08:35 PM

why not just use proxies?

#5 paranoid_user

paranoid_user

• Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 May 2008 - 09:16 PM

never did that. how do i do that? :]

Edited by paranoid_user, 24 May 2008 - 09:21 PM.

#6 Spyril

Spyril

Hakker addict

• Members
  • 588 posts

Posted 25 May 2008 - 12:55 AM

never did that. how do i do that? :]