11 replies to this topic

#1 wilo300zx

wilo300zx

DDP Fan club member

• Members
  • 43 posts

Posted 12 May 2008 - 06:17 PM

Hello,

I am a student studying and working for a company who provides wireless broadband solutions to clients.
We have a current situation where we would like to monitor network traffic at a client level to resolve where data traffic is being used. We have reason to suspect that there is unauthorized activity on the network via WIFI.

I have in placed several procedures to counter this problem:
MAC filtering
WEP encyption
Changed the Broadcast Channel, SSID and password login within the router

Does anyone know of a simple network monitoring software like CommView or NetWork Probe 2 to record what machine/mac address's at what time downloaded/uploaded how much data.

I need to check to see if the excessive download quotas are coming within the LAN or outside (i.e unauthorized access)

I also have legal and full access to the LAN and all accounts/pc's within.

Please advise if this information is unclear.

Thanks in advanced

Wilo

#2 bit_rot

bit_rot

DDP Fan club member

• Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 12 May 2008 - 08:41 PM

I don't have an answer to you question, but is there a reason why your using wep?

#3 vvuiverine

vvuiverine

Gibson Hacker

• Members
  • 95 posts

Posted 13 May 2008 - 04:21 AM

Not exactly what you are looking for but I think both Airtraf and Airsnair could help you out. Airtraf will record bytes per IP address, I cannot remember if it can lookup the MAC address directly or not. Airsnare, if you don't know will alert when an unauthorized MAC address is on your wireless network and show each MAC address with the associated IP address..

Wireshark will also report data transfers stats per MAC.

Airtraf: http://airtraf.sourceforge.net/ Airtraf is for Linux though.
Airsnare: http://home.comcast....eboer/airsnare/