Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

vista hates p2p WTF!!!??


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 J.Ripper

J.Ripper

    Gibson Hacker

  • Members
  • 83 posts

Posted 21 March 2008 - 01:57 AM

Okay i have many p2p programs i have tried, it seem that in vista when you try to run p2p it works to a point, when you try to shut it down the main GUI shuts down but task manager still shows it running. I tired to use the use task manager to shut it down. nothing happens. it still runs. I try to start the program again. nothing. i even tried using Command[codebox]taskkill /f /im azureus/exe[/codebox] it say it shuts down but its still running. anyone else have this problem and how can i fix it. i tried uninstalling and the usual stuff

#2 t3st.s3t

t3st.s3t

    rekcah-rebÜ

  • Members
  • 719 posts
  • Location:NPA 330

Posted 21 March 2008 - 07:45 AM

Can you tell us what specifically software is not working?

#3 Lord Wud

Lord Wud

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 423 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted 21 March 2008 - 08:48 AM

Funny, in my mind I don't count bit torrent as p2p, although it obviously is.

Have you tried reinstalling Azureus? It is a notorious resource hog, try utorrent. Or even better yet setup a LAMP server and run torrent flux, I just started using and I'm on a recommend it to everyone kick.

#4 eXodus.circuit

eXodus.circuit

    I broke 10 posts and all I got was this lousy title!

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 21 March 2008 - 12:40 PM

Can you tell us what specifically software is not working?

both those have worked great with my vista, and lime wire actually works great too

#5 friendless

friendless

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 21 March 2008 - 01:56 PM

Sounds like issue with the program itself or other things going on than the OS...

I run Azererus in Classic Mode without that VUZE crap and it works perfectly... (Vista Ultimate)
Also haven't seen it being a resource hog, I could be wrong however.

Also doesn't windows somehow limit max connections to like 200 due to, " security reasons"

Anyone know a way to switch this or wants to confirm this?

I prefer Azereus over any other Torrent application i've seen so far.

Limewire is like weatherbug, worst program's ever made. :)

#6 jabzor

jabzor

    hax?

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,146 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Elbonia, fighting the lefties

Posted 21 March 2008 - 02:55 PM

Unless you are using ShuMod or one of the other features available only in that client, I suggest switching to uTorrent.

#7 friendless

friendless

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 21 March 2008 - 03:26 PM

I guess i'll have to give uTorrent a try with all the rant I been hearing about it...


Think im in love.

Edited by friendless, 21 March 2008 - 03:31 PM.


#8 mirrorshades

mirrorshades

    aviatorglasses

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 March 2008 - 06:43 PM

uTorrent wins because of the web server. Hawt.

#9 J.Ripper

J.Ripper

    Gibson Hacker

  • Members
  • 83 posts

Posted 26 March 2008 - 02:46 PM

okay guys i did some fiddling around and the problem remains with zonealarm. for some reason it prevents it from shutting down and doesn't permit connections after 10 mins.

#10 Grey King

Grey King

    Will I break 10 posts?

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 March 2008 - 07:07 PM

vista hates everything

but really, verify where you downloaded the azureus installer and make sure it isn't backdoored.

Actually on second thought, try to trace the process the exe itself and scan it to make sure it isn't just a backdoor on your computer with it's process named after your default p2p program.

#11 friendless

friendless

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 31 March 2008 - 09:06 AM

okay guys i did some fiddling around and the problem remains with zonealarm. for some reason it prevents it from shutting down and doesn't permit connections after 10 mins.


Not sure 100% for zone alarm but should be a way to make the application and all network orginiating from it exempted from any protection?

#12 mirrorshades

mirrorshades

    aviatorglasses

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 March 2008 - 09:45 AM

Get rid of ZoneAlarm?




BinRev is hosted by the great people at Lunarpages!