Photo
- - - - -

No internet in Ubuntu

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 1337Noob

1337Noob

I broke 10 posts and all I got was this lousy title!

• Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 10 June 2007 - 07:06 PM

I am new to Linux so I decided to use Ubuntu because I heard it was noob friendly. Everything boots fine, all the games work and everything is as it should. Then you get to the internet....that is where I cannot do shit. I have googled "no internet in ubuntu" and similar queries, they say mess with the network-> connections tab. Have! Still the problem persists. I tried to figure things out with the "ifconfig" command, but that did not help. It does connect with my linskey router. And in Windows Vista I have full bars. Can someone help a young noob like me?!

#2 BoBo

BoBo

I have the Phreak Phactor

• Members
  • 77 posts

Posted 10 June 2007 - 07:34 PM

Are you using a wireless card? I'm assuming you are, which means you will most likely have to use ndiswrapper and the windows driver for the card to set it up and configure it. You can go here, to find all the information you need to setup ndiswrapper with ubuntu.

BoBo

#3 1337Noob

1337Noob

• Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 10 June 2007 - 10:45 PM

Yes I am using a wireless card. Thanks I'll see if that works for me.

#4 operat0r

operat0r

Dangerous free thinker

• Members
  • 793 posts

Posted 13 June 2007 - 10:51 AM

No internet in Ubuntu

Dude ! I need to install Ubuntu I did not know the entire internet was on that one CD !

s/Ubuntu/FreeBSD

lose the GUI learn at least how to configure and install drivers for a network card .. then you can start messing with
*nix GUI

man ifconfig
man dhclient

* do ipconfig /all > txt.txt then start txt.txt and print out that text
* look at the txt and what ifconfig -a says they should look the same - the IP number
* goto your *nix box and type ifconfig -a make sure your wifi card is even listed if it type ...
dhclient XXX ( where XXX is the nic )