Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Ubuntu keeps Rebooting when it needs to load


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Modder101

Modder101

    DDP Fan club member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 20 May 2007 - 02:18 PM

What happens is i go to start the computer it does the usual GRUB loader is starting but before code starts to roll down page it restarts.... Anyone know whats wrong.


I checked the CD defects and it was fine....



UBUNTU

#2 WhatChout

WhatChout

    Dangerous free thinker

  • Members
  • 814 posts

Posted 20 May 2007 - 03:15 PM

Do you have the system installed on the hard drive? If yes, then why are you checking the CD? If no, then how about asking Google first?

#3 Modder101

Modder101

    DDP Fan club member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 20 May 2007 - 03:19 PM

Yes i have the system installed on the hard drive.

#4 gloomer

gloomer

    Hakker addict

  • Members
  • 588 posts

Posted 20 May 2007 - 03:42 PM

Have you changed anything hardware related recently?

#5 Alk3

Alk3

    "I Hack, therefore, I am"

  • Binrev Financier
  • 1,003 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:312 Chi-town

Posted 20 May 2007 - 03:53 PM

I'm sure this question could best be answered on the Ubuntu Forums.

#6 Modder101

Modder101

    DDP Fan club member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 20 May 2007 - 04:40 PM

I have googled it several times. But i finaly found the problem the old processer in my Windows 98 era computer will not work well with the pre Grub bootloader on the CD theres a way to fix it but im just gona run DSL on it as a server....


DELETE THIS MODERATOR...

THANK YOU

#7 Caffeine

Caffeine

    SCRiPT KiDDie

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 21 May 2007 - 02:07 AM

I have googled it several times. But i finaly found the problem the old processer in my Windows 98 era computer will not work well with the pre Grub bootloader on the CD theres a way to fix it but im just gona run DSL on it as a server....


DELETE THIS MODERATOR...

THANK YOU

Please choose which moderator you would like to erase.

#8 doomtroll

doomtroll

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 313 posts
  • Location:785

Posted 21 May 2007 - 09:18 AM

I had this problem with an install once before...not sure WHY ...but I know I missed a step I normally take when installing ANY new OS on any PC....Which would be Low Level formating the hard Drive...


Grab yourself a copy of the Ultimate Boot CD I don't know what I would do without it sometimes....it has tools for almost every Hard drive out there...and even some generic tools...plus a whole slew of nifty tools for all kinds of things you never knew you needed

Edited by doomtroll, 21 May 2007 - 09:21 AM.





BinRev is hosted by the great people at Lunarpages!