i've been subpoena'd
#1
Posted 16 May 2007 - 09:48 PM
The number that is provided in the email is a fax machine. I called the domains by proxy company and they gave me the email address copyrightclaims@goaddy.com to email. The guy didnt know exactly what to do so i'm guessing that he is just told to have people who ask about subpoenas to email copyrightclaims@.
From what it looks like, the email is legit, here is the email and the headers:
This email is to inform you that we have received a properly formatted subpoena for documents in the following civil action: Microsoft Corporation v. John Does 1-50 pending in the King County, Washington Superior Court, Case No. (removed). Our response to this subpoena may require us to disclose some of your personally identifiable information. Therefore, we are providing this notice as a courtesy to give you an opportunity to object to the subpoena. The only way to object to a properly filed subpoena is by filing an objection with the court in which the matter is pending. If we do not receive an objection notice within 3 business days indicating that you have filed an objection, we will continue with producing the documents requested and charge your account according to our registration agreement.
Sincerely,
K. Willis
Sr. Paralegal/Compliance Manager
(480)624-2546 Facsimile
Delivered-To: webtime7@gmail.com
Received: by 10.66.220.13 with SMTP id s13cs244099ugg;
Wed, 16 May 2007 16:28:15 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.70.67.4 with SMTP id p4mr14502666wxa.1179358095059;
Wed, 16 May 2007 16:28:15 -0700 (PDT)
Return-Path: <compliance@godaddy.com>
Received: from smtpout14-02.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net (smtpout14-02.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net [68.178.232.8])
by mx.google.com with SMTP id i14si1850573wxd.2007.05.16.16.28.14;
Wed, 16 May 2007 16:28:15 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of compliance@godaddy.com designates 68.178.232.8 as permitted sender)
Received: (qmail 5957 invoked from network); 16 May 2007 23:28:14 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO gem-wbe33.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net) (64.202.189.215)
by smtpout14-02.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net with SMTP; 16 May 2007 23:28:14 -0000
Received: (qmail 13413 invoked by uid 99); 16 May 2007 23:28:14 -0000
Date: Wed, 16 May 2007 16:28:14 -0700
From: Go Daddy Compliance <compliance@godaddy.com>
Subject: xof7.com
To: webtime7@gmail.com
Message-ID: <20070516162813.179ef26eadb65bd19e00bac1977a6c94.2bd8286ea9.wbe@email.secureserver.net>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: TEXT/html; CHARSET=US-ASCII
User-Agent: Web-Based Email 4.9.36
X-Originating-IP: 172.16.53.21
Any help would be great. I'm trying not to panic.
#2
Posted 16 May 2007 - 11:28 PM
Google this hash 4eb04352885730f2772e17f81915bf4813100aab
You need to try to remember what you had in the downloads section of the site, and what was on the forums you had. archive.org didn't index them. You didn't have that windows source file up there or anything that bad did you?
#3
Posted 16 May 2007 - 11:29 PM
#4
Posted 17 May 2007 - 12:51 AM
I was allowing sub-domains to be given out on my domain so i think its a possibility that someone had one of my sub-domains and did something shitty with it.
I plan on calling the seattle superior court in the morning. I live on the other side of the state so its not to big of a problem... hopefully thats all it is tho. Could i be held liable for what others did with a sub-domain?
#5
Posted 17 May 2007 - 05:57 AM
#6
Posted 17 May 2007 - 09:08 AM
3 business days? Gosh you people in the states have uber fast mail.
Naw--we just have a very shitty judicial system
As for the topic though--I got something similar for warez a while back. If you know what your doing you can use a little SE to get off the hook, or if you didn't do it--then be as honest as you can, and hope for the best
#7
Posted 17 May 2007 - 09:20 AM
#8
Posted 17 May 2007 - 09:27 AM
If they are taking legal action against me, what can they do against me? I'm 17, would they go after my parents?
Probably not.
#9
Posted 17 May 2007 - 11:52 AM
#10
Posted 17 May 2007 - 05:56 PM
#11
Posted 17 May 2007 - 06:20 PM
I called the King county Superior court this morning and the lady said that their wasnt any information about the case. The only thing that she could see is that Comcast had been subpeonaed as well. She told me that I should contact the the lawyer involved in the case and that I should seek legal council before I do anything.
Yeah... don't talk to their lawyers... have YOUR lawyer call their lawyer....
#12
Posted 17 May 2007 - 06:31 PM
#13
Posted 17 May 2007 - 06:40 PM
#14
Posted 17 May 2007 - 06:51 PM
#15
Posted 17 May 2007 - 07:30 PM
#16
Posted 17 May 2007 - 11:03 PM
A win means you may pay a literal fortune. You need representation, and if "guilty" in the eyes of the law, hope for a settlement.
I'm drunk, and NAL, but that's what I would do man. These guys are from south fLorida and you probably aren't, but someone like this:
http://www.focusonip.com/
#17
Posted 18 May 2007 - 01:26 AM
#18
Posted 18 May 2007 - 01:30 AM
#19
Posted 18 May 2007 - 07:21 AM
#20
Posted 18 May 2007 - 10:33 PM
Their lawyer replied to me and their was someone spamming s sub-domain to my domain. I guess it was only natural for them to subpoena godaddy and comcast.
I feel a hell of a lot better.
BinRev is hosted by the great people at Lunarpages!












