• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 bsd-roo

bsd-roo

SUP3R 31337

• Members
  • 175 posts

Posted 04 April 2007 - 02:28 PM

im a university student and i live in halls and here in like most halls do, block certain listening ports
to stop bittorrent downloads, one strange thing is, if i use bitcomet i can download at a very bad speed but alot of the times
still manage to download things that i want. but when i use another different client like bitlord, azeurus and kde's ktorrent
they all seem to get stuck without downloading anything.
i randomised the listening port but bitcomet still tell me that my ports are blocked.

any ideas anyone?

#2 gloomer

gloomer

Hakker addict

• Members
  • 588 posts

Posted 04 April 2007 - 02:50 PM

Encrypt the traffic?

#3 Drake Anubis

Drake Anubis

Never Forget

• Agents of the Revolution
  • 911 posts

Posted 04 April 2007 - 02:50 PM

I don't understand. Bittorent needs port fowarding enabled, do you have your own public ip address or is everyone in the hall sharing an IP and your behind NAT?

#4 bsd-roo

bsd-roo

SUP3R 31337

• Members
  • 175 posts

Posted 04 April 2007 - 04:56 PM

we all get assigned a local ip behind a NAT.
i don't even know how bitcomet manages to sneak downloads?!?!?!
does it work slightly different to others?

Edited by bsd-roo, 04 April 2007 - 04:57 PM.

#5 Drake Anubis

Drake Anubis

Never Forget

• 911 posts

Posted 04 April 2007 - 05:03 PM

Well bittorent can work without port fowarding... but not very well. Do you have control of a computer outside somewhere else?

Like if you had a computer somewhere else you could just have it do the downloading and then transfer the files back to yourself.

#6 Penguin Liberation Front

Penguin Liberation Front

DDP Fan club member

• Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 04 April 2007 - 05:38 PM

I can't tell you how bitcornet works in order to sneak downloads, but I can explain to you how to get through the Halls network and use bittorrent