Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Opera on Linux


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Alk3

Alk3

    "I Hack, therefore, I am"

  • Binrev Financier
  • 1,003 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:312 Chi-town

Posted 12 February 2007 - 05:35 PM

I switched to Opera from Firefox because of the speed difference I noticed. I use Debian and dont want to use the Firefox replacement 'iceweasel'... How do I get videos working? (restricted formats).

Alk3

#2 livinded

livinded

    Dangerous free thinker

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,942 posts
  • Location:~/

Posted 12 February 2007 - 06:23 PM

You could see if there is an mplayer plug-in, vlc plug-in, or a xine plug-in. I've never setup opera on linux but if one of those plug-ins exist is should do the job.

#3 Ohm

Ohm

    I could have written a book with all of these posts

  • Members
  • 3,209 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maine, USA

Posted 12 February 2007 - 06:45 PM

Opera uses netscape/mozilla plugins just like Firefox. There's a plugin config buried somewhere in the advanced preferences that lets you define plugin paths. Just make sure that's pointed to your mozilla plugin directory, and it should work as long as you had it working on Firefox.

#4 Alk3

Alk3

    "I Hack, therefore, I am"

  • Binrev Financier
  • 1,003 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:312 Chi-town

Posted 12 February 2007 - 06:57 PM

here is what I come up with in a search...

user@blah:/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins$ ls
libvlcplugin.so

and opera is not seeing it, any ideas? I have opera plugin browser pointing to that directory. Are there any tuts you guys know of for this type of thing? Thanks!

#5 Alk3

Alk3

    "I Hack, therefore, I am"

  • Binrev Financier
  • 1,003 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:312 Chi-town

Posted 12 February 2007 - 07:52 PM

Well, I'm just going to keep Firefox installed until I get it working. I will search on this later. Its time for 24 (tv show) in 11 minutes!!!!!!!! FTW. Jack Bauer will start some havoc tonight for this two hour special!!!

Alk3

#6 iceni

iceni

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 400 posts

Posted 14 February 2007 - 09:54 AM

you can add a plugin path here -
Tools>Preferences>Advanced>Content>Plugin Options

you can click on Find New too there.

you can also just tell opera a pass the URL on to your standalone media player too if you can't get it working, here -
Tools>Preferences>Advanced>Downloads

double-click on the extension, then select Open With Other Application and Pass Web Address Directly To Application

you can also use a userjs to show the embedded links on a page (if you use it, to get it to show the hidden embedded links, you have to double-click on the page. see screenshot although in the screenshot it is actually working and i don't need the links :P )

Posted Image

here's where to get the script -
http://userjs.org/sc...download-embeds

and here's how to get it working -
http://userjs.org/help/installation

userjs is abit like Firefox extensions, there are other good scripts.

BTW you should just be able to install the mplayer plugin from apt and make sure you uninstall any other media browser plugins first.

#7 Ohm

Ohm

    I could have written a book with all of these posts

  • Members
  • 3,209 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maine, USA

Posted 14 February 2007 - 04:58 PM

userjs is abit like Firefox extensions, there are other good scripts.


It's actually the same thing as Greasemonkey. Extensions can do a lot more.

Edit: Good info though. I never had the will to figure out the file extension part, so it never really worked for me :P

Edited by Ohm, 14 February 2007 - 05:01 PM.


#8 Alk3

Alk3

    "I Hack, therefore, I am"

  • Binrev Financier
  • 1,003 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:312 Chi-town

Posted 23 February 2007 - 05:35 PM

I am probably going to stay with Firefox. The initial idea of going with opera was to slim down my os, but I can't seem to get the same functionality with opera as with firefox. I am going to keep on trying to get it working on my extra box though. I do like it, minus the extra configuration.




BinRev is hosted by the great people at Lunarpages!