• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Garry

Garry

Will I break 10 posts?

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 September 2003 - 01:40 AM

This will probably soudn like a n00b question and it probably is, but please humor me since im new to this and i haven't done much history hw.

note: i was going to post this on newbie thread, but this is more of a history/background question than one of a techie nature.

you know those number generators they have out that with a press of a button can churn out valid CD keys and registry validations because of the specific formula in them?

ex. HALF LIFE CD key generators and Diablo II cd key generators

i was wondering if anyone had ever made one of those based on the principals of phone cards. you know how you scratch out the card and there's a pin number in there which will let you access their lines. has anybody ever figured out how those are formulated and made a generator to churn out valid PINS... cuz umm.. those companies gouge everyone and they often lie about how many minutes they sell as well as hidden fees.

anyways, just a thought and suggestion. an answer to this querry would be most helpful

thanx

GARRY

P.S. EDIT btw, heard anything about the whole "war chalking" thing going around?

#2 jedibebop

jedibebop

Dangerous free thinker

• Members
  • 1,935 posts

Posted 23 September 2003 - 02:44 AM

I think most keys for cds are made from hashes that encode the info you give them...like name and company name and stuff, also the equation used is probably known for those key gens to be able to make the keys

i don't know for sure but phone card PINs are probably made random and the way of encoding is probably not known, and different for different cards. Also, probably very hard to crack.

#3 decoder

decoder

Very Friendly

• Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,609 posts

Posted 23 September 2003 - 07:54 AM