• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 4b50lut3 1337

4b50lut3 1337

SUP3R 31337

• Members
  • 172 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 02:10 AM

which one is easiest or was easiest for you to learn?
i cant decide which one to start with

#2 vardor

vardor

HACK THE PLANET!

• Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 02:47 AM

Most people start with python. http://www.python.org/download/ and theres tons of documentation on it online.
Then most go to C then to C++, then perl. Start where you like in the chain or go for another not on my list, but a bit of advice. The more you try to skip ahead the harder it is to learn, and the more confused you get. Eventually you end up back at square one with python.

#3 xof7

xof7

Hakker addict

• Members
  • 558 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 03:35 AM

I started out using the command line and writing batch files for nearly everything. Then I started using vb6. I've been using vb6 for a few years and now i am slowly going towards c++

#4 Ohm

Ohm

I could have written a book with all of these posts

• Members
  • 3,209 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 04:18 AM

I would start with Ruby, and that's not just because I'm a Rubyist. It's a good alternative to Python, which can be inconsistent at times. There's no shortage of books on how to program with Ruby, so that's not a problem. The only hurdle there really is to learning Ruby or Python is object oriented concepts. In addition to books on your chosen language, you should seek out a book that teaches object oriented concepts well. I recommend Bruce Eckel's "thinking in" series, which are free dowloads on mindview.net. Strive to understand all concepts, don't get hung up on memorizing syntax and method names. Concepts is the most important part in the beginning.

#5 4b50lut3 1337

4b50lut3 1337

SUP3R 31337

• Members
  • 172 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 05:11 PM

thanks a lot...i'll check into everyone's recommendatoins

#6 m3747r0n

m3747r0n