#1 polekat

polekat

n00bie

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 05 December 2006 - 06:32 AM

I'm currently trying to hack my router following this convention
http://preview.tinyurl.com/k34md
but with little success. Obviously I'm new at this. I've downloaded the mine and standard firmware updates, and extracted the files with rar, but can't get further. The how-to guide they have posted isn't very helpful to me, as it seems to assume some knowledge at the get go that I apparently don't possess, which is to say, that it jumps straight in without any seeming first step. If someone could help, or even just point in the right direction I would really appreciate it.

thanks,

p

edits: fixed spelling errors and link

Edited by polekat, 05 December 2006 - 06:36 AM.

#2 droops

droops

Arduino Addict

• Moderating Team
  • 1,889 posts

Posted 06 December 2006 - 11:53 AM

Hey, welcome to the forums.

i believe the missing step you are looking for is to upload the firmware onto the router. log into your router and you should see and option to upgrade it. using that you select the firmware on your computer, and it does it.

http://lifehacker.co...y/router/330879

#3 polekat

polekat

n00bie

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:08 AM

Hey, welcome to the forums.

i believe the missing step you are looking for is to upload the firmware onto the router. log into your router and you should see and option to upgrade it. using that you select the firmware on your computer, and it does it.

http://lifehacker.co...y/router/330879

aha! That got me in. Unfortunately, when I try to upgrade firmware, using [dd-wrt.v23_mini_wrt54g] or [dd-wrt.v23_mini_generic] I get the message 'upgrade are failed'. Upon further inspection, I find that this particular router, being new, is wrt54G v6, and apparently as such, has a reduced flash mem, and RAM, from previous versions. Thus rendering it incompatible with current versions, at least that I'm able to find, of dd-WRT.