Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Forgotten BIOS Password.


  • Please log in to reply
97 replies to this topic

#21 dalejrrocks

dalejrrocks

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 472 posts
  • Location:Alabama

Posted 11 September 2006 - 10:52 PM

Ok. Here's something interesting. I got an official manual from the tech guy that describes almost every screw in the notebook. Here's an exerpt from it:

1–4 Maintenance and Service Guide
Product Description
1.2 Resetting the Computer
If the computer you are servicing has an unknown password,
follow these steps to clear the password. These steps also
clear CMOS:
1. Enter an incorrect password and press enter.
2. Repeat Step 1 two times.
After the third entry of the incorrect password, the computer
responds with a “System Disabled” message and provides an
override password.
3. Access MS/DOS by clicking Start > All Programs >
Accessories > Command Prompt.
4. Enter “unlock6 xxxxx 0,” where “xxxxx” is the password
generated by the computer in Step 2.
The computer responds with another system-generated
password. This password can be used to reset the computer
and clear all CMOS settings.


And I followed the first 3 steps fine, but on the third step it says: "unlock6 is not recognized as an internal or external command, operble program or batch file."

So I have no idea why it doesn't work. Any ideas?

#22 nullkraft

nullkraft

    SUP3R 31337 P1MP

  • Binrev Financier
  • 284 posts
  • Location:Think Heisenberg uncertainty principle.

Posted 11 September 2006 - 11:31 PM

And I followed the first 3 steps fine, but on the third step it says: "unlock6 is not recognized as an internal or external command, operble program or batch file."

So I have no idea why it doesn't work. Any ideas?

That's not a regular DOS program so it was probably included only with the original HP system install. However, you can try a software solution like killcmos. From the site http://www.majorgeek...wnload2969.html they say

"KillCMOS basically resets your computer's CMOS settings to the factory defaults. Works with ALL CMOS. KiLLCMOS only changes checksums & values that makes the motherboard CMOS revert back to factory defaults."

You MUST read the directions for this to work properly.

#23 dalejrrocks

dalejrrocks

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 472 posts
  • Location:Alabama

Posted 13 September 2006 - 10:56 AM

I know that. But I still have the original HP Install. I didn't delete any of HP's system or recovery files.

#24 I-baLL

I-baLL

    T0tal n00b

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,373 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New york

Posted 13 September 2006 - 02:24 PM

You sure that it's an HP manual that you're reading? Is there a document number or anything for it?

#25 dalejrrocks

dalejrrocks

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 472 posts
  • Location:Alabama

Posted 13 September 2006 - 06:06 PM

Yeah, I am sure. lol. It has HP's logo an dv8000 series all over it. But It's focused on AMD Turion based dv8000z, so that may be a problem. I'll go see if I can get a dv8000t one.

#26 operat0r

operat0r

    Dangerous free thinker

  • Members
  • 793 posts
  • Location:ops

Posted 14 September 2006 - 01:18 AM

They have exe's for windows clearcmos.exe err clrcmos.exe ( most the time work )

#27 Booter

Booter

    rekcah-rebÜ

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 742 posts
  • Location:The 'Burbs

Posted 14 September 2006 - 03:50 AM

You may try 'updating' the BIOS. Here is where you can find more info on updating the BIOS. Even if yours is up to date; when doing the BIOS update should wipe the old stuff out and start it from new again. This should clear out any BIOS passwords that you have.

#28 dalejrrocks

dalejrrocks

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 472 posts
  • Location:Alabama

Posted 14 September 2006 - 07:48 AM

That was one of the first things I tried. I didn't work. It kept the old password. I am going to try that KillCmos app.

#29 I-baLL

I-baLL

    T0tal n00b

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,373 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New york

Posted 14 September 2006 - 09:54 AM

That was one of the first things I tried. I didn't work. It kept the old password. I am going to try that KillCmos app.


So you haven't tried taking the cmos battery out for 5 minutes?

#30 Xylene

Xylene

    n00bie

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 11 October 2006 - 03:17 PM

Was there ever a resolution to this problem ??? :unsure:

#31 tortan

tortan

    Will I break 10 posts?

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 October 2006 - 04:02 PM

Start the computer up and see what type of BIOS you have...(whether it be AWARD or PHOENIX...etc)


Then google search " _brand_ default bios password"


All BIOS's have factory passwords for this reason.

#32 dalejrrocks

dalejrrocks

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 472 posts
  • Location:Alabama

Posted 11 October 2006 - 05:46 PM

Ok, I found what unlock6 is. It's a utility made by one of HP's partners and you can get it from http://www.hp.com/partners/csn. I assume that you have to have a login id and password. Anyone want to help? I would appreciate that very much.

#33 I-baLL

I-baLL

    T0tal n00b

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,373 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New york

Posted 12 October 2006 - 03:14 PM

Ok, I found what unlock6 is. It's a utility made by one of HP's partners and you can get it from http://www.hp.com/partners/csn. I assume that you have to have a login id and password. Anyone want to help? I would appreciate that very much.


Dude, did you actualy try removing the CMOS battery for 5 minutes? Cause that's gona fix your problem.

I did get unlock6 and can send it to you if you pm me an email address.

Thing is that your laptop model isn't on the list of laptop models that are supposed to be supported by UNLOCK6.

#34 dalejrrocks

dalejrrocks

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 472 posts
  • Location:Alabama

Posted 12 October 2006 - 10:01 PM

Ok. This issue has been resolved. The battery was under the wireless module which is located under the RAM cover. I had to remove 4 screws and a couple of wires to get to the battery. It works now and the CMOS settings have been reset. Thanks for everyone's help.

#35 SHawn

SHawn

    the 0ne

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 February 2007 - 01:56 PM

NO WORRIES PEOPLE,
WE HAVE UNLOCK6.EXE I CAN SEND YOU THRU EMAIL ATTACHMENT.
AND OTHER THEN THAT WE HAVE YRS OF LAPTOP HARDWARE/SOFTWARE REPAIR EXPERIENCE SO MY EXPERIENCE CAN REALLY HELP YOU OUT IN FIXING YOUR ANY COMPAQ, HP, DELL, IBM,TOSHIBA MACHINE I HAVE WORKED WITH ALL THESE MACHINES ALMOST ALL MODELS AND I KNOW HOW TO FIX BIOS PASSOWORD PROBLEMS ON ALL THESE MACHINES.
IF YOU WANT I CAN SERIOUSLY HELP YOU OUT.
MY EMAIL IS CA_730@HOTMAIL.COM INCASE IF YOU WANT TO CONTACT ME
THANKS AND REGARDS

#36 PurpleJesus

PurpleJesus

    Dangerous free thinker

  • Members
  • 1,578 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:800

Posted 14 February 2007 - 03:57 PM

NO WORRIES PEOPLE,
WE HAVE UNLOCK6.EXE I CAN SEND YOU THRU EMAIL ATTACHMENT.
AND OTHER THEN THAT WE HAVE YRS OF LAPTOP HARDWARE/SOFTWARE REPAIR EXPERIENCE SO MY EXPERIENCE CAN REALLY HELP YOU OUT IN FIXING YOUR ANY COMPAQ, HP, DELL, IBM,TOSHIBA MACHINE I HAVE WORKED WITH ALL THESE MACHINES ALMOST ALL MODELS AND I KNOW HOW TO FIX BIOS PASSOWORD PROBLEMS ON ALL THESE MACHINES.
IF YOU WANT I CAN SERIOUSLY HELP YOU OUT.
MY EMAIL IS CA_730@HOTMAIL.COM INCASE IF YOU WANT TO CONTACT ME
THANKS AND REGARDS


Does he have to email you in all uppercase too??? oh sorry... DOES HE HAVE TO EMAIL YOU IN ALL UPPERCASE TOO... didn't know if you could read the lowercase... OH SORRY AGAIN, DIDN'T KNOW IF YOU COULD READ THE LOWERCASE.

#37 diverter

diverter

    SUP3R 31337

  • Members
  • 177 posts

Posted 14 February 2007 - 09:50 PM

I'll give you all 9/5 odds that Shawn's unlock tools will probably turn you into Russian zombie pr0n bot.

#38 KtE

KtE

    Will I break 10 posts?

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted 06 April 2007 - 04:27 PM

Ok. This issue has been resolved. The battery was under the wireless module which is located under the RAM cover. I had to remove 4 screws and a couple of wires to get to the battery. It works now and the CMOS settings have been reset. Thanks for everyone's help.

Hello Dale,

Would be possible if you can send
me a copy of unlock6.exe to my email? I would really appreciate that, for I have an HP
laptop with cmos password that I don't know. please let me know, by the way
I added you to my msn contacts.

Thank you in advance,

Kali

#39 KtE

KtE

    Will I break 10 posts?

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted 06 April 2007 - 04:39 PM

Ok. Here's something interesting. I got an official manual from the tech guy that describes almost every screw in the notebook. Here's an exerpt from it:


1–4 Maintenance and Service Guide
Product Description
1.2 Resetting the Computer
If the computer you are servicing has an unknown password,
follow these steps to clear the password. These steps also
clear CMOS:
1. Enter an incorrect password and press enter.
2. Repeat Step 1 two times.
After the third entry of the incorrect password, the computer
responds with a “System Disabled” message and provides an
override password.
3. Access MS/DOS by clicking Start > All Programs >
Accessories > Command Prompt.
4. Enter “unlock6 xxxxx 0,” where “xxxxx” is the password
generated by the computer in Step 2.
The computer responds with another system-generated
password. This password can be used to reset the computer
and clear all CMOS settings.


And I followed the first 3 steps fine, but on the third step it says: "unlock6 is not recognized as an internal or external command, operble program or batch file."

So I have no idea why it doesn't work. Any ideas?


Dale, you would want to change your dos working directory to where you have stored unlock6.exe, try using cd command and navigate to there. it shouldn't be a problem once you are in the same directory.

Thanks
Kali

#40 dalejrrocks

dalejrrocks

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 472 posts
  • Location:Alabama

Posted 06 April 2007 - 08:56 PM

Ok. Here's something interesting. I got an official manual from the tech guy that describes almost every screw in the notebook. Here's an exerpt from it:


1–4 Maintenance and Service Guide
Product Description
1.2 Resetting the Computer
If the computer you are servicing has an unknown password,
follow these steps to clear the password. These steps also
clear CMOS:
1. Enter an incorrect password and press enter.
2. Repeat Step 1 two times.
After the third entry of the incorrect password, the computer
responds with a “System Disabled” message and provides an
override password.
3. Access MS/DOS by clicking Start > All Programs >
Accessories > Command Prompt.
4. Enter “unlock6 xxxxx 0,” where “xxxxx” is the password
generated by the computer in Step 2.
The computer responds with another system-generated
password. This password can be used to reset the computer
and clear all CMOS settings.


And I followed the first 3 steps fine, but on the third step it says: "unlock6 is not recognized as an internal or external command, operble program or batch file."

So I have no idea why it doesn't work. Any ideas?


Dale, you would want to change your dos working directory to where you have stored unlock6.exe, try using cd command and navigate to there. it shouldn't be a problem once you are in the same directory.

Thanks
Kali


Yeah, I know that. I tried that with unlock6. But like IBall said, it only works on some. I emailed you unlock6 by the way.




BinRev is hosted by the great people at Lunarpages!