• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 boo!

boo!

SCRiPT KiDDie

• Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 19 July 2003 - 09:54 AM

What would be the best flavour of linux/unix for a complete beginner to start with?

#2 Cr4X

Cr4X

elite

• Members
  • 120 posts

Posted 19 July 2003 - 10:30 AM

I would recommend either Mandrake Linux,

Description: Mandrake Linux is a friendly and popular Linux operating system which specializes in ease-of-use for both servers and the home/office.

or RedHat Linux.

Description: Red Hat Linux is probably the best-known Linux distribution. It is well-supported commercially, and tends to be easy to install and have good hardware support out of the box. Compaq has taken over the maintenance for Red Hat for their Alpha processor - there's a link to their Alpha Red Hat page below.

Note: In order to receive support from Red Hat you must purchase an official Red Hat CD from them or an authorized reseller or purchase support services.

I haven't been able to test the latest version of either of them, duh. But I've tryed Red Hat 8.0 (latest 9.0) and Mandrake 9.0 (latest 9.1). Mandrake is easy to use, but there aren't that many books for it, so Red Hat might be the best. At least it's the most all round system.

I asked the same question as you some time ago, where I was recommended Debian, duh I haven't tryed it yet.

Anyway, you could have a look for yourself at www.linux.org, or www.linuxiso.org. Good luck. :)

#3 psychopuppy

psychopuppy

Hakker addict

• Members
  • 508 posts

Posted 19 July 2003 - 11:00 AM

debian is not so hard, if you RTFM ;)

#4 feend

feend

microphone commander

• Members
  • 497 posts

Posted 19 July 2003 - 03:06 PM

Heh don't start with Debian first, you'll be frustrated as hell with the different development branches. Or if you try it, then use knoppix (a debian based distribution).