- - - - -

Manipulating AIM

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 GUEST_Unregistered_Isis_***

GUEST_Unregistered_Isis_***
  • Guests

Posted 26 May 2003 - 10:26 AM

I'm new at computers. I've recently gotten into hacking. While this is not a serious hacking question, I don't know where else to ask it. What I want to know is if there's a way to mask my aim (insant messenger) name when I'm online...to keepmy screenname from lighting up on other people's buddy lists...but I can still im people. I have the urge to scare a specific someone. If anyone knows a trick for doing this, can tell me how to do this, please reply to this post.

#2 W1nt3rmut3

W1nt3rmut3

Phreak Scout

• Agents of the Revolution
  • 321 posts

Posted 26 May 2003 - 12:12 PM

a really long time ago i saw a friend of mine actually do this, but he was using some version of AOL i think. he was able to look offline but im people. you might want to look around the net for the AIM clones, becuase i bet one of them does what you want to do.

#3 StankDawg

StankDawg

same old Dawg, no new tricks

• Moderating Team
  • 8,073 posts

Posted 26 May 2003 - 12:16 PM

hmmm..that is interesting. I know with msn messenger, you can "appear offline" so that they cannot see you, but if you send a message, it will reveal you instantly. You would have to click on the "appear offline" option again really fast, but it may be too late. the reply may go to you anyway.

i know that doesn't help much with your AIM question... :(

#4 ragweed

ragweed

SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

• Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 22 June 2003 - 07:40 PM

im an aol user and all i have to do is go to privacy settings dont know about aim though

#5 djmollusk

djmollusk

resident chix0r magnet

• Agents of the Revolution
  • 813 posts

Posted 22 June 2003 - 09:39 PM